Community Blog Topic: What is your favorite announcement for Warlords of Draenor

Over at WoW Insider, they have a column called Community Blog Topic, which is a chance for the opinions of other blogs to be gathered and published on their site. This week, the question they asked was “What is your favorite announcement for Warlords of Draenor”? Both Yotaan and Fussypants blogged their answers here!

Fussypants: There are so many to choose from! However, overall, I think one that got me most excited was new character models. The ones they showed at BlizzCon were amazing, and I can’t wait for more. I was worried about how they would look, but one glimpse at that adorable gnome was more than enough to quell my fears. I could totally see my gnome mage rocking that new model.
The new models are, in my opinion, one of the more important announcement. Think about it. You stare at your character every time you log in. In my mind, looking at a significantly better character is more important that a toy box tab. You use your character every time you play.
On the other hand, my favorite quality of life announcement would have to be the mat stack size increase. The boost to one hundred per stack for mats is a dream come true. On my tailor character, I have over thirteen stacks of mageweave, and with that change, I could have as little as three. The stack size change (if it stays till live) will be one of those changes I’m grateful of for a long time.

Yotaan: Well, first of all, I have to disagree with Fussypants. The best announcement would have been the removal of gnomes from the game! /wink
For me, my favorite announcement is the change of the stats. I never liked hit. It was annoying to fiddle with gems, reforging, and enchants to keep hit at a certain level. Hit was not fun, just a task. I suspect I would feel the same about expertise, dodge, and parry. Reforging, for me, was interesting when I tried to max out a stat and see what happens. For my shaman, I liked trying to max out mastery, which duplicated my spell for 75% damage and no threat. What it really did was make my shammy a nonstop chain lightning fiend!
I don’t think I will miss reforging, since that will be gone too. I am, very much, looking forward to new interesting stats. One mentioned was speed, which I take to be run speed. That could be interesting and getting around faster will help in PVP and PVE. The other was cleave, which could go either way. It is supposed to provide cleave damage occasionally. Sounds cool, but I worry that I will cleave when I’m supposed to be single targeting only. I bet there may be other stats too, so I am very excited to see what happens!

4 thoughts on “Community Blog Topic: What is your favorite announcement for Warlords of Draenor

  1. From a PvP perspective I find it interesting that most of the level 100 abilities are focused on AoE, and carry short CDs. They seem to have side-stepped the issue of adding abilities that will unbalance arena, but only impact (potentially) bgs/rbgs significantly and increase dps for classes that struggle to maintain mob pve/dps. I don’t know that I’ll have much use for Cataclysm, the 100 tier lock ability outside of PvE. 10k damage to 8 targets every 60 seconds is not significant compared to spreading DoTs that will tic for 36k in 23 seconds. The ability seems a throw away, which is disappointing. I am excited for the PvP sandbox. Having played Eve, I have seen what can happen. Fights involving 100,000 players on epic scale. It could be very exciting. So I’ve signed up for the PTR and will see the mess unfold.

    • I agree that some of the abilities are weaker than others (looking at you, paladin talents), and some seem really boring but necessary. Also, keep in mind, the talents are affected by the item squish, so the damage they deal may be more when everything else is squished accordingly.

  2. My favorite part would have to be that they added the garrison. I like all of the build your own city games a lot, an I think the garrisons won’t be much different.

    • That too! I’m curious to see what they will do to integrate professions. Also I heard there may be a way to battle pet breed on your garrison! Can’t wait until expansion is out!

Leave a Reply

