First Real Raid EVAH!

(Not actually the flex raid because Fussypants never takes screenshots when it's actually valuable)

(Not actually the flex raid because Fussypants never takes screenshots when it’s actually valuable)

Last Saturday, I did it.  I finally did it.  I raided.  Not LFR, but real flex guild raiding.
We struggled with having enough people almost the whole time, never had enough healers, and didn’t even manage to down the first boss.  And it was GLORIOUS!
The night started with the installing a voice communication system on my laptop.  I was super nervous about talking to other people, even though I knew everyone pretty well.  My fears were, of course, unfounded, and I soon grew to enjoy talking to the people in my guild instead of typing.  After troubleshooting for a little bit, and finding out that my head set was busted, I was all set to go.
We spent about an hour recruiting enough people for the raid, and then we were set.  I managed to get my dad to join, so he was raiding with us too!  We all queued up, and zoned in.   None of us (from the guild) had ever flex raided before, but everyone knew basically what needed to happen.  We had some issues with the trash before Immerseus, but soon found ourselves at the boss.
A quick pull later, and everyone wiped.  It was spectacular.  Happily, everyone was in high spirits, so we brushed ourselves off, and got up to try again. A few tactic changes later (thanks to an incredibly helpful draenei shaman), and we were at it again.  And we wiped.  We managed to get to the splitting phase, but we didn’t have the heals to cover all the blobs, or the dps to kill them all.
The night progressed, and we wiped many more time, but everyone remained in a good mood.  At one point, we had a party, and everyone pulled out their fun items.  All throughout, everyone was having a fantastic time.
But all things must come to an end, and after 3 hours, I had to go to bed.
I really loved the experience.  It was fun, not at all stressful, and suitably challenging.  For a first experience with raiding, I couldn’t have asked for a better one.  I loved hanging out with people and having a good time trying to figure out how to down the boss.  Even though I never saw Immerseus fall, I didn’t need to.  I had a fantastic time.  And I fully plan on raiding again next weekend!

One thought on “First Real Raid EVAH!

  1. Hi guys! I’ve been meaning to post this for almost a week now (I’m a terrible procrastinator sometimes). Also, sorry for the wall of text, WordPress has been ignoring my enters. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

