Random Acts of Uberness: Shield ‘n’ Heal

RAOU Sniggit
When the well-loved column, Random Acts of Uberness on WoW Insider had to be retired, I decided to pick up where it left off and continue writing the column on my own blog! So, as promised, here is this week’s uber people!

Sniggit-Khaz-goroth US
So I was healing on my undergeared, kinda unskilled, new disc priest in a raid finder the other day.  I was doing SoO for the first time, trying so very hard not to be at the bottom of the meter.  I wasn’t actually doing that bad for a 505 ilvl, but my numbers still left much to be desired.  We run through the raid, and it’s a typical Monday afternoon LFR.  Many almost wipes, lots of 420 jokes, and much rage.  We get to the last boss (Sha of Pride), and one of the tanks, Sniggit-Khaz-goroth asks me to come on his side of the boss so that we can free people from the cages on this side of the room.  I oblige, but warn him in a whisper about my rather dismal healing.  Sniggit tells me not to worry, and we pull.  The fight starts off rather smoothly, me mostly shielding him and Atonement healing, all while freeing people from the prisons.  And, I’m third on the healing meters, so I am feeling pretty good  about myself.  
Then, BOOM! half the raid drops like flies, with the other half knocked down almost dead.  Frantically, I’m spamming all my cooldowns, in an attempt to keep everyone up.  In all of this craziness, I lose the tank I was healing, and run over to heal the other tank still alive.  A bunch of mobs begin to chase me, and I begin running again in an attempt not to die.  The other tank dies, but the first tank, Sniggit, has been battle rezzed!  I quickly shield him and Penance him, and he takes the mobs off of me.  I’m in the middle of a hard cast big heal when he dies again. “Oh no!” I’m thinking, as I have let him die twice now.  Miraculously, the few remaining dps get the very last of the boss’s health down, and we kill him with barely five raid members left alive.
But here comes the best part.  That tank, Sniggit, the one I’d let die twice, he whispered me again.  Sniggit congratulated me on my healing, and told me that I was the reason why we were able to pull it off!  I thanked him profusely, and he went on to say that my quick shield and heal allowed the mobs to be yanked on to him for long enough that the dps could bring the boss down.  Again I thanked him, and we parted ways.  So this random acts of uberness goes to Sniggit of Khaz’goroth for his incredibly friendly and helpful remarks to a new healer!  He certainly boosted my confidence, and I’m no longer as skeptical of my heals as I was before!  Thanks buddy!! (Elfster-Windrunner US)

Email me your tales of uberness at thefussypants@hotmail.com.  Be sure to include the name and realm of the person(s) who were uber, as well as your own if you want to be credited. Hopefully, I will be able to post this every other Monday!  Until next time, be uber to each other!

4 thoughts on “Random Acts of Uberness: Shield ‘n’ Heal

  1. Awesome!! It’s always good to hear positive things and that tank sounds like he was truly an amazing person – at least your heals are better than what you thought and that boost to your confidence makes all of the difference in the world. 😀

      • Oh, definitely enjoyed it since I’ve just started sticking my neck out and going into LFR – I’ve actually seen some pretty nice things happening and it’s not all trolls – kind of renewed my faith in the game a bit.

Leave a Reply

