All about that Base….

Yotaan in his base

I was wrong.

 

And it’s a little tough to admit.

 

I’m playing WoW and it’s all about my garrison.

 

As you might remember, Fussypants and I wrote an article about garrisons wherein we discussed our thoughts and plans. I had written that it would be too much work, that Yotaan did not get very far in the farm, that it would be better if it all was account bound, and the mini-game aspect would not be engaging. I made a foolish Clash of the Clans comparison.

 

Cause of course, now, the garrison is the main reason I play any of my toons. I will log in and immediately check on those follower missions. Fat loot! Then Yotaan dashes over to the salvage yard (okay, some comments here – the salvage yard is the best thing since sliced bread but why is it so far away in Alliance garrisons? My hordie rogue does not nearly need to travel as far – Horde Bias?) and discovers more fat loot in those great crates. Yay!!! Time to level up the followers and boost their ilevels! All leading to the next step, more missions.

 

I have no idea why I enjoy the followers so much but that alone has kept me playing my max toons and even my ones in the lower 90’s. Perhaps there is just enough reward to entice further play. Certainly there is the feel of progression with leveling, and I think that feeling is multiplied with more followers – look, all 3 went up, at the same time!

 

Not all is perfect in garrison-land though. Sadly, professions are profoundly uninteresting and seem to be mostly useless. This is the first time that Yotaan’s leatherworking has barely advanced at all. I had thought that getting the Barn, initially as a way to obtain savage blood, would be fun. Trapping wildlife seems cool, but the actual process is a little tedious and very much a time sink. The leather production from the Barn is too slow as well. The leatherworking garrison options are just not enticing.

 

And yet, I am enjoying the stables, which I surprising. Catching new mounts is surprising fun. Yotaan is the collector of mounts of our cadre of alts, so that is biasing me a bunch. Plus, seeing a fat pandaren on the little talbuk is always funny.

 

Yotaan has become a bloodthirsty gladiator as well. I have leveled up the gladiator’s sanctum and have ran Ashran with Fussypants. If you join a group in Ashran and fight on the main road, then you become loaded in broken bones. Those bones are the currency for your sanctum for more, you guessed it, Fat Loot! Most of Yotaan’s pvp gear has come from there rather than vendors and you can see him in his finest in the picture.

 

So, shockingly, the feature I had the least amount of interest in, the garrison, has become my focus of play. I hope there will be added features in upcoming patches, cause it really is all about my base.

 

 

This post was entirely written by Yotaan.

 

3 thoughts on “All about that Base….

  1. I think at this point I’m ready to call the stable my personal highlight of the expansion. That was a lot of fun. Once the quests ran out and I finished the quests in the inn, there was a real sense of loss…

  2. I’m running 10 equally developed Garrisons for my toons merry party, and I don’t find it boring to login each day with them at least for professions. Well, at least as long as I figured out that I mustn’t collect ores and herbs daily, only when you need them.

    With 10 toons, the most annoying part is the followers game. I confess that I appreciate what they bring me, and I like their leveling, but I can’t just remember what level they are and who are they. So they’re just faceless guys.

    As with Pandarian farm, I feel very comfortable having a peaceful activity to get busy with between raids and quests.

  3. It does get better in 6.1 with some of the things that have added, some neat QoL things that will help if you have multiple garrisons. I agree on the mount collecting with the stables – that is a lot of fun to do and definitely a bit of travel time involved with some of them.

Leave a Reply

