The Apex of My Loathing

Apexis crystal hatredI don’t like apexis crystals.  In fact, it wouldn’t be untoured to say that I hate apexis crystals.  However I’m not one to rant without reason.  So let me tell you why I dislike those infernal little shards of the past.

First of all, Apexis crystals are really small.  Or they must be, because it takes so dang many of them to buy even the lowest tier of gear.  And because it takes so many crystals to buy things, there is a feeling that it is that much harder to obtain gear.  Back in the day of Justice Points and Valor Points, it required less of that currency to buy the comparatively same gear.  And while the rate of acquisition balances out, it certainly feels like it’s a lot harder to use currency to buy upgrades.

The second issue is that Apexis crystals are gathered differently than previous currencies.  With Justice and Valor Points, you could earn them from daily quests (which I’m glad is gone) or running dungeons/raids/scenarios.  But with Apexis crystals, you either do one daily for a large amount, you get lucky with work orders, you can do some garrison missions, or you grind elites for hours. I think this is the crux of the matter.  You can’t do instances to get crystals.

The way it used to work was you ran instances in hopes of getting new gear.  Then in case you didn’t what you needed, you went and used the points to buy gear that you couldn’t upgrade.  That way you always got something out of an instance, even if the bosses gave you no drops.  That also acted as an incentive to get those who might not need the gear from an instance to run the instance.  Meaning in LFR, there was always at least one overgeared person to pull you along.

But instead of grinding instances to get better gear, you now must grind mobs.  A grind is grind, right?  Wrong.  Grinding instances was an experience.  You could chat with other instances members (or fight with them).  You could help friends gear up by running them through.  You could stoke your ego and burn things down with your awesome gear.  But a mob grind? You mindlessly murder hundreds of mobs for hours.  Mob grinding is repetitive, dull, and anti- social.  Plus, tanks and healers especially can’t mob grind nearly as effectively as dps.  Instances, no matter how many times you do them, are more interesting than mob grinds.

As a healer (with a tank offspec) I can’t really grind mobs.  And besides that, I would way rather run an instance.  In effect, apexis crystals have destroyed alternative gearing methods for me.  And, they’ve taken away my incentive to run instances once I no longer need gear.

I know there are other methods of getting apexis crystals, but they are not as controllable.  The missions options change almost daily.  Work orders are completely random.  The daily is dependable, but you can only get your 800-1000 and you are done for the day.  I miss the flexibility of justice/valor points.

With the vast number required to buy a single piece and the time commitment and unenjoyable grinds attached, I definitely think that Apexis Crystals are a weaker aspect of this expansion. It’s completely possible that I’m doing this whole thing wrong, but they have been no use to my gearing up process.  I’ve bought maybe one or two pieces of gear.  Apexis Crystals just aren’t doing it for me.

4 thoughts on “The Apex of My Loathing

  1. I don’t bother with the Apexis dailies anymore unless someone asks me to go with them. Yeah, killing mobs to fill up a percentage bar so you can purchase obsolete gear is engaging game play 😛 My alts can wait until gear drops lol.
    I really hate that percentage bar ever since I first saw it in Cata (remember the old, horrible Thrall quest with Aggra screaming the whole time just to get a cloak?)

  2. Haven’t really had to collect the crystals for a while but I find the daily quests really tedious! Have yet to do the ring quest on 2 characters, sort of hoping I can get the 4000 through garrison missions haha.

  3. My argument would be more that they’re pretty much worthless other than for buying the mounts. You can get far better gear via LFR and follower missions…and better yet if you’re able to do normal and/or heroic raids.

    • I would agree that there are other methods to gear up, but I have terrible RNG luck so I often need dependable bought-with-currency gear to fill out the gaps. Most of what you mentioned are very RNG based and you can’t really work towards a specific piece (more than just running that boss and hoping it drops). The currency system was implemented to allow players to fill in the gaps with specific pieces, but Apexis Crystals are utterly awful at this.
      But at higher gear levels Apexis Crystals do get pretty useless, I’m just not at that point in gearing yet! 🙂

Leave a Reply

