2017 New Year’s Resolutions

suramar

…Also known as, ‘getting back on the bandwagon’.

It’s been a while since I’ve updated the blog and for that, I owe all my readers and explanation and an apology.

My main New Year’s Resolution for 2016 was to “post a minimum of 5 blog posts a month”.  For the first half of the year, I was very good about this.  I was rocking and rolling, writing and posting prolifically.  Around about summer time, the number of posts I was putting out decreased while the length got significantly longer.  So, while I wasn’t maintaining the letter of my resolution, I maintained the spirit.

And then, my next year of school began.  When I established my resolution, I didn’t really think very far ahead.  Specifically, I didn’t take into account that 2016 would include one of my most academically rigorous years.  All of a sudden, I didn’t have very much free time.  Both my post number and post length dropped significantly.  I started feeling really guilty, like I was failing the blog.  Writing became a chore and a checklist rather than a hobby.  And as a result, even when I did find the free time, I didn’t have the motivation to write anymore.

As much as I’d like to blame this on my super busy schedule, the reality is my lack of writing was partly my fault.  I didn’t set a realistic goal and turned something I enjoyed into something I avoided.  It was a self fulfilling cycle; I didn’t write because I didn’t want to and then I felt awful about not writing, which further decreased my motivation.

Regarding my other, non-writing related resolutions, I actually faired much better.  I completed Heroic Hellfire Citadel, even going so far as to help out with Moose group carries and venture into Mythic.  I started the Ironman Challenge but didn’t get much farther than that due to Legion (it’s still on my to do list though). I did go and try out a bit of open world role play but the bigger achievement there was the writing I did associated with it.  I established backstories and wrote dozens of little vignettes for my characters. And, I completed scores of transmog sets I’d been meaning to build, thanks in part to the new transmog system.

Now that brings us to this New Year. 2017.  I still want to set goals because I know I’m a very checklist oriented person.  But I know I cannot do what I did last year.  Goals are wonderful, but so is being able to reach them.

My Resolutions for 2017

1) Write consistently and write for myself
A lot less concrete than my previous writing goals to be sure, but I hope this will bring me more success.  I do want to keep writing and keep writing all year but setting a quantitative goal hasn’t been the best way.  It’s about the quality of the writing.  For the new year, I want to make sure I write stuff that I love because I love to do it.  Not to cross off a checklist, not because I ‘need’ to, but because I ‘want’ to.

2) Post more stories
I’ve done a little of this in the past, but I really want to publish more of the short stories that I write.  Creative writing is something I don’t get to do as often but I thoroughly enjoy it.  By giving my work an audience, I think I might be inspired to write even more! And I mean, I’d love to get some of these ideas out of my head and onto a page.

3) Integrate my artistic side into the blog more
Surprise surprise, I’m actually a painter! You wouldn’t really know by reading through my blog so I’d like to change that!  Whether that be writing about my art, including my art as article headers, or maybe even doing art giveaways, I’m working on ways of bringing paint into my posts.

4) Complete Suramar (and whatever max level story follows it)
I have a confession to make: I rarely ever finish the max level stories outside of the ones told in raids.  It’s not for lack of wanting its just, when you main a healer, smacking mobs in the face takes a lot more time.  This expansion though, aided by my newfound viable holy paladin dps, I’m going to do it.  I’m going to complete Suramar and not just google the ending of the story!

5) Participate in more community building projects
There are a bunch of wonderful organizations that use WoW as a vehicle to drive positive change; Icecrown Challenge and Running of the Gnomes comes to mind immediantly but I know there are more out there.  I want to participate in as many of those as I can.  But even on a much more local level, I want to start giving back to the community.  Sending bags and gold to low level characters.  Helping new newbies find their footing. Jumping in and being that last body you need to go and run Eye of Azshara. I want to be a force of good.

Lastly, I do want to acknowledge the writing I did this past year.  While I wasn’t as prolific as I would have liked, I still wrote some pretty gosh darn good pieces if I do say so myself!

Soapbox Speech: The Truth about Leadership
A good synopsis of all of the leadership related lessons I’ve learned this year.  Also, home to one of the best lines I think I’ve ever written: “leadership is the art of knowing when to act and knowing when to ask.”

Gaining Closure
My farewell letter to my guildie Hammerstein who passed away earlier this year.  This was definitely one of the most emotional pieces I’ve written but I’m very very glad that I wrote it and I hope I’ve honored Hammer’s memory.

Official Fussypants Warcraft Movie Review!
Wow, I should really be a cinema critic! Just what the title sounds like, this is my breakdown of the strengths and weaknesses of the Warcraft movie. I was particularly proud of my ability to write a longer post and still keep it interesting and directed.

Why I Do Not Use (many) Addons
Not going to lie, I mainly wrote this post so I would have something to link every single time someone asked me to install some sort of addon I wasn’t interested in.  Luckily, I think the writing has held up pretty well and even half a year later, I’d be proud to link it!

Short Story: Trapped Part 1 and Part 2
This is definitely one of my favorite pieces that I wrote this year and it’s totally out of the style of anything else I published.  A short story about a few of my Warcraft characters (as well as one of a friend’s), I spent a very long time crafting a tale that was both entertaining and memorable.  If there’s anything you read again, I’d highly recommend this one!

So there you have it, 2016 in review.  Here’s to 2017, may the year be full of progress, success, and, of course, writing!

(Yotaan’s post should be coming Soon!)

3 thoughts on “2017 New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Once i made a goal to read 105 book in a year, i thought that was easy, and it was in the first few months, then i got busy and everything starting falling apart, i started cheating by reading small easy books, i didn’t think how absurd it is to keep following that goal when it made me hate reading! in the end months of that year i stopped reading books, and to this day i’m still trying to recover.

    So yes, write because you want to, for the enjoyment of writing for yourself, and people will enjoy reading that, force yourself and it’ll show in the lines you wrote, also write small things, what may seem mundane and silly can be in the future something that bring enjoyment of a happy memory, i’ve been blogging since 2013, my old blogs becoming a useful resources to remind me of old ideas and projects.

  2. You know what, life happens. School happens. Stuff happens. You don’t need to apologize for anything. You’re doing just fine 😀
    I think I might have mentioned this earlier, but one of the most important lessons I took away from High School wasn’t anything I learned in the classroom…it was learning how to prioritize stuff. Grades are important. A good resume going into college is important. Being sane enough to deal with the stress of going off to college (which it will be, I can assure you)…THAT is also important. Just remember to take time for you, to do whatever it is that makes you happy, whether it’s writing or painting or raiding or whatever. You’ll come out better in the long run if you take care of yourself, even if it means just getting an A instead of an A+ in your “Applied Theory of Arcanite Relative to Pyrolite Manifestations” class.
    Meanwhile, good luck in Dalaran, I’ve heard they have a fantastic University there 🙂

Leave a Reply

