Satire: Stop Catering to the Casuals Blizzard!

Wow is dead!(Warning: Satire)
Usually Twitter is the place for ranting, but today Twitter is what I’m going to rant about.  So I brought the party here.  Grab your popcorn folks, this ones gonna be a doozy.

Patch 6.1 brought many changes, but arguable one of the most radical was Twitter integrations.  The patch notes explain it best.

“Twitter Integration
Characters can now send Tweets for items, achievements, and screenshots from within the game client using the /share command.
To activate this feature, visit Social options in the Interface menu to enable, add, or disconnect a Twitter account.”

In addition to this, Blizzard also added a S.E.L.F.I.E camera as a garrison mission reward.  The S.E.L.F.I.E camera allows players to take a ‘selfie’ or head shot of their character. This picture can also be used in conjuncture with the new Twitter Integration.

I see what’s going on here.  I’m onto you Blizzard!

Stop catering to the filthy casuals!

What has WoW come to?? I remember back in the day how screenshotting was! It took real skill to get that shot just right.  HOURS of preparation to capture that perfect moment!  If you wanted to get a picture of your character you had to wait till they stopped yawning, or bouncing, or looking around, or sniffing to take the shot.  And then, right as you would hit the screencap button, your stupid toon would look away.  It used to take real skill to take screenshots!

Oh look at me, aren't I so cool with my S.E.L.F.I.E camera!

Oh look at me, aren’t I so cool with my S.E.L.F.I.E camera!

Now any filthy casual can do what it once took years of learning to achieve.  Just click on the S.E.L.F.I.E camera and Blizzard will solve the problem for you!  Any brainless mouth drooler can do it, and it makes me sick.

Blizzard is ruining this game!  They are making it stupid easy so any old schmuck can go and take a screenshot!  People liked it when it was hard! Change it back! Vanilla WoW was the best!

And don’t even get me started on the Twitter integration!  What used to take a hundred dollar investment in Photoshop and months of trying to learn the program now is a simple /share command.  Now everyone can post their screencaps without going through the pain of trying to find them in all the files that come with WoW and crop them to be just right!

You know what, I’m gonna boycott the Twitter integration! That’ll show them! That will show them to cater to the casuals! I’ve played this game for 11 long years so I deserve to be appeased.  My opinion matters more than the noobs that started in WoD!

What will happen next? Free Mythic raiding tiers for logging in? Full sets of conquest gear for killing one mob? Rare mounts for turning in any quest? It’s a slippery slope I tell you, and I just won’t stand for it!

It's simple math!

It’s simple math!

This game is dying! Any noob can now take high quality screenshots and post them to twitter.  The game is easymode!  No one will play, there is no challenge!  People loved spending hundreds of dollars and hours perfecting their skills! Don’t you dare listen to the casual’s whining; change it back!
So take to the forums my righteous friends! Give Blizzard a piece of our mind about this keyboard-turning camera! Make them see the truth of their actions! Shout it to the world and don’t let anyone correct you! This selfie camera is the nail in the coffin; WoW is dead!

Filthy casuals ruining the game….

(Disclaimer: I actually have no qualms with either, but it sure is fun to pretend to rant like a hardcore 😛 )

6 thoughts on “Satire: Stop Catering to the Casuals Blizzard!

  1. Pingback: 2016 New Year’s Resolutions | Growing up in Azeroth

  2. Yeah, I hear you!! Forget about those filthy casuals with their easy-mode S.E.L.F.I.E.s!
    Ha! Painting characters with oil and canvas? That is soooo TBC! Back in Vanilla if we wanted a pix of our character we had to use pencil and paper!!
    /RAGE!!!
    LMAO 😀

  3. Pingback: Group Quest #190: Hey Mazzlu, Do you want to buy a token? | Group Quest

  4. Well, as we Real Hardcore know, there’s only one way to take a screenshot. Let your character burn her shadow on your monitor while you busy yourself with oil and canvas.

    Any noob can hit PRNT SCRN.

    WoW died before it was even launched. I know, I should have been in the beta.

    • I hope you’re creating and mixing those paints yourself! Scavenging for the leaves and berries to make the pigments? Plucking only the finest horse hairs for the brush? Weaving the cotton for the canvas by hand? I only associate with the truly Hardcore.

      Forget beta, this game died in Alpha.

  5. It definitely made me laugh because I have seen so many posts on the forums in the same vein except, those people were serious about it. LOL, if it weren’t for us filthy casuals paying the majority of the bills there probably wouldn’t be a WoW to complain about. 😀

Leave a comment